World Cup Trophy: Weigh, Size, and History


The end of this year’s spectacular event will be crowned with a prize – the World Cup trophy!

So, what is the World Cup trophy made of? What is its size? How much does the World Cup weigh?

Learn these and other exciting details about the most wanted trophy by teams and players from all over the world.

How Much Does The World Cup Weigh? 

photo source: time

The present W. Cup trophy weighs 6.175 kg. And we refer to it as ‘the present only because this isn’t the first World Cup trophy.

The first, or the original World Cup trophy, was much lighter (3.80 kg) than today’s weight of the eminent prize.

Is The World Cup Solid Gold?

photo source: sportingnews

The World Cup size of the “replacement” trophy is 36.6 cm, or 14.4” high, and is made from 18-carat gold. Which means the trophy isn’t pure gold. That said, it contains 75% gold and 25% metal elements like silver, copper, etc.

Furthermore, to stand as proud as it does, we have to thank the 13 cm (5.1”) base it has. The double-layered green base of this grand prize consists of a mineral that can crystallise and is widely known as ‘malachite.’

Malachite is, in fact, a copper carbonate that forms a mass after a complex procedure and is a beautiful gem.

Also read: Who are the best forwards in the World Cup?

How Much Is The World Cup Trophy Worth?

Following the latest information, the trophy’s initial worth (during its manufacture) was more or less $50.000. Nowadays, its value has risen rapidly.

Today’s World Cup trophy is estimated at nearly $20 million — possibly the world’s most valuable sports trophy.

However, one can’t always state its exact worth since the gold market is highly volatile.

For instance, in 2018, the trophy’s original design and sports and cultural meaning across nations were valued at £15m.

What Is The World Cup Trophy Called?

The trophy that modern football fans see and recognise is called the ‘FIFA World Cup Trophy.’ This world-famous prize presenting two human figures holding the globe high up was first presented in 1974. And is the fine work of the Italian Stabilimento Artistico Bertoni company.

However, the original trophy, which was designed by the French Abel Lafleur (1930), was called ‘the Victory.’ The name came from the Greek Goddess of victory, and it was similar to Nike’s winged logo shape.

Additionally, the trophy went through another change of name. In the year 1946, it was renamed to ‘Jules Rimet Trophy.’ This honourable move was inspired by FIFA’s president, Jules Rimet – the man who first voted and made it possible for the 1st FIFA World Cup to happen.

What Happened To The Previous Trophy – The Jules Rimet Trophy?

photo source: olympics – the Jules Rimet trophy

The previous, i.e. the original trophy, has been through some “adventures” and turbulence.

  • The Jules Rimet Trophy – a World War II ‘Survivor’

As luck would have it, the Jules Rimet trophy ‘survived’ World War II. To shed light on it. In 1938, the trophy was in the Italians’ hands since they won the World Cup.

So, Ottorino Barassi, FIFA’s vice president, took upon himself the responsibility to protect the trophy. He moved the trophy behind the closed doors of a bank vault in Rome, Italy and put it into a shoebox under his bed.

Until the end of the war, the trophy stayed under Barassi’s bed.

  • The trophy is stolen (1966)

In 1966, the trophy was exhibited at the Methodist Central Hall in Westminster, England. And, during this event, only 4 months before the biggest football spectacle – The World Cup in England, the trophy went missing.

Needless to say, the highest security organisation on a national level were included in the search, but with no luck.

A week later, Pickles, a dog, taken out for a walk, accidentally found it covered in a newspaper.

After recovering the trophy, Bobby Moore, England’s captain, had the chance to raise it high at one of the biggest stadiums in the world, Wembley Stadium. The 1966 World Cup ended with West Germany losing the finals from the host at 4:2.

  • A second trophy theft (1983)

In 1970, Brazil marked their 3rd World Cup victory, and following the rules, they were entitled to keep it for good this time.

Unfortunately, in 1983 the trophy was stolen for the second time. This time the theft took place in the Brazilian Football Confederation principal seat (Rio de Janerio).

A year after the robbery, it was discovered that the thieves had cast the valuable piece, and they were subsequently arrested.

Related: Who is the youngest scorer in the World Cup?

Do The Winners Keep The Trophy?

Per FIFA’s latest regulations, the winners aren’t allowed to keep the original trophy. Though, the skipper is allowed to lift it.

Afterwards, the World Cup trophy resides in the chambers of the football governing body in Switzerland.

This is a precautionary measure after everything the trophy has been through.

But winners aren’t sent home empty-handed, either. The winning team is granted a gold-plated replica of the trophy, followed by a special ceremony carrying the same sporting value as the original one.

Does Brazil still have the old version?

No, Brazil doesn’t have the old version. As we said, the Jules Rimet Trophy was stolen. After the second theft, the trophy was never recovered again.

What Countries Have Won The World Cup Trophy?

Until now, the trophy has been in the hands of 8 winning countries. And Uruguay is the first to win the World Cup trophy, or better yet, the Jules Rimet Trophy – both are correct.

Consequently, Brazil has the most World Cup trophies.

Related: Who do we think will win the World Cup in Qatar?

FIFA World Cup Trophy Tour

photo source: thephucketnews

FIFA, together with Coca-Cola (since 2006), are taking the FIFA World Cup Trophy on tour.

What does this mean?

It means this tour is the only chance for fans worldwide to see the famous World Cup trophy up close. And the tour is usually conducted before the start of the upcoming World Cup tournament.

For instance, right before the start of the 2018 W. Cup, the trophy was showcased to 220.000+ people from different continents.

The 2022 World Cup tour is expected to go through 51 countries, and it will be accompanied by two football legends – Kaká and Casillas.

Once the trophy’s visit in Doha, Qatar, is over, it will be securely brought back to its official football residence in Switzerland.

Final Thoughts

The FIFA World Cup carries a deep symbolic value in the football world. True football fans will never stop being emotional when thinking of the image of one of the best free kick takers ever, Maradona kissing and lifting the trophy.

Knowing how much does the World Cup weigh, its length, and what it is made of gives us a good idea of how it feels to hold it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *